Sky Road, Clifden, County Galway

County Galway, located in the Province of Connaught, is home to one of the largest Gaeltacht (Irish speaking) areas on the island. The Twelve Pins or Bens, is a mountain range located in scenic Connemara. Beautiful County Galway is known as the Tribes County.

I found several thin places in County Galway, primarily monastic sites, but also areas of amazing beauty. To learn more about these places, check Galway’s Splendor, as well as the map of My Journey.

Some of these sites are listed here:
In Eastern Galway:
Lough Corrib
Inchagoill, a monastic site on an uninhabited island in Lough Corrib
Cong Abbey – and the lovely Cong Woods
Ballintubber Abbey
Ross Errilly Friary

In Western Galway, or the area known as Connemara:
Clifden’s Sky Road
Omey Island
Letterfrack and Connemara National Park.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s